Shopping Cart

Various Artists

The Decca Sound - The Mono Years (6LP)

Various Artists

This limited-edition LP set features six outstanding recordings from Decca’s earliest high fidelity history, celebrating the technological breakthroughs that brought full-frequency range recording (ffrr) and high fidelity to the world 70 years ago.

The recordings in this set, including Decca’s first LP (Ansermet’s 1949 recording of Petrouchka), have been selected from a collection of celebrated recordings in the 53-CD set of THE DECCA SOUND – MONO YEARS.

Newly presented in luxury 180gm vinyl pressings, the set includes a newly written booklet detailing the history behind the Decca Sound from this period.


LP 1: Ansermet – Stravinsky: Petrouchka LXT 2502
LP 2: Erich Kleiber – Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 “Pastoral” LXT 2587
LP 3: Van Beinum – Britten: Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia “Peter Grimes” & Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra LXT 2886
LP 4: Argenta – Albeniz: Iberia & Turina: Danzas fantasticas LXT 2889
LP 5: Martinon – Lalo: Namouna – Ballet Suites Nos. 1&2 LXT 5114
LP 6: Nelsova – Rachmaninov: Cello Sonata, op. 19 LXT 5228