Shopping Cart

Fear Factory

Mechanize (Grey Smoke 2LP)

Fear Factory

Fear Factory is an American industrial metal band formed in Los Angeles, California in 1989. The band’s sound is characterised by a unique fusion of heavy metal and industrial music, with a focus on futuristic themes and mechanized sounds. Fear Factory’s lineup has undergone several changes over the years, with the only constant members being vocalist Burton C. Bell and guitarist Dino Cazares. In 2010, Fear Factory released their eighth studio album, Mechanize, marking the return of Cazares to the band after a seven-year absence.

The album was highly anticipated by fans and critics alike, as it was the band’s first release since their 2005 album Transgression. Mechanize features a return to the band’s roots, with heavy and aggressive guitar riffs paired with electronic beats and atmospheric soundscapes. The album’s themes focus on the relationship between humans and machines, and the concept of a future where technology has taken over. Mechanize was praised for its intense energy and renewed focus on the band’s signature sound. It features appearances from Byron Stroud (former Strapping Young Lad bassist) and Gene Hoglan (former Strapping Young Lad drummer), and was produced by Rhys Fulber, known for his work with industrial music legends like Front Line Assembly and Skinny Puppy. Fear Factory’s Mechanize stands as a testament to the band’s enduring legacy and their ability to constantly evolve and push the boundaries of heavy music. In 2023 it is reissued by Nuclear Blast Records expanded with 3 bonus tracks and returns on vinyl for the first time since over a decade!

1. Mechanize
2. Industrial Discipline
3. Fear Campaign

1. Powershifter
2. Christploitation
3. Oxidizer
4. Controlled Demolition

1. Designing the Enemy
2. Metallic Division
3. Final Exit

(Re-recorded version)
1. Martyr
2. Crash Test
3. Sangre De Ninos